LIFE | LIFE LESSONS | GRIEVING | INSPIRATION

Life Beyond Grief is Not Easy, But Liveable

A cat’s perspective

Dr. Fatima Imam
3 min readJun 13, 2024

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Hej (Swedish greeting). I’m recovering from the profound loss of my hooman’s younger brother. Thank you for all the support and love.

Grief affects our psyche differently and definitely our bodies, too. Some people can’t eat or drink anything for days because swallowing pain saps down their appetite completely. On the other hand, some tend to overeat, binge at godly hours, and can’t sleep.

My reaction to the grief was more sophisticated, scary, and serious. Not moving, not eating, and even drinking water made me mourn the loss of a lovely soul in a more dignified way. Whereas this hooman dealt with the loss in waves of howling inconsolably, talking nonstop with relatives, and going into phases of non-activity. 😼

I nearly lost my patience several over the course of the two weeks. I lost weight and still can’t eat properly, and I think she has bigger dark circles around her eyes. I sulked while she cried loudly, disturbing my mourning process.😼

--

--

Dr. Fatima Imam

Poet, writer, artist, historian, educator, advocate of underrepresented voices, and cat lover.